Man City charged with breaking financial rules by Premier League

Man City have been hit with more than 100 charges of alleged breaches of financial rules, which could lead to a points deduction or even expulsion

The investigation began in December 2018 after documents were published by German investigative website Der Spiegel.

It alleged that City had overstated sponsorship income, effectively doubled former manager Roberto Mancini’s wages via a secret contact with an Abu Dhabi club and broken rules over approaches to young players.

They have now been hit with more than 100 charges of breaching financial rules between September 2009 and the end of the 2017-18 season.

The Premier League revealed that they have charged City in a statement on Tuesday morning.

“In accordance with Premier League Rule W.82.1, the Premier League confirms that it has today referred a number of alleged breaches of the Premier League Rules by Manchester City Football Club (Club) to a Commission under Premier League Rule W.3.4,” their statement read.

“Commissions are independent of the Premier League and member clubs. The members of the Commission will be appointed by the independent Chair of the Premier League Judicial Panel, in accordance with Premier League Rules W.19, W.20 and W.26.

“The proceedings before the Commission will, in accordance with Premier League Rule W.82, be confidential and heard in private. Under Premier League Rule W.82.2, the Commission’s final award will be published on the Premier League’s website.

“This confirmation is made in accordance with Premier League Rule W.82.1. The Premier League will be making no further comment in respect of this matter until further notice.”

City’s punishment is unknown at the moment but they could be handed a points deduction if breaches are proved. Expulsion from the league is also possible.

Manchester City enjoyed great success between September 2009 and the end of the 2017-18 season. In that time frame, they won three Premier League titles, were crowned FA Cup winners in 2011 and won the Carabao Cup on three occasions.


Twitter Follow

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.