Lionel Messi has won an unhoped record-breaking seventh Ballon d’Or

The PSG star striker has once again been named the best player on the planet, with Bayern's Robert Lewandowski finishing as runner-up

No one would disagree that Lionel Messi is still one of the best players in the world and one of the all-time greats, but his 7th Ballon d’Or seemed like a stretch compared to what Robert Lewandowski accomplished for Bayern Munich and Poland this year.

Lewy won more trophies and scored 23 more goals for club and country. He has not stopped plundering goals since the start of the year, continuing what’s now a constant scoring spree.

Having netted more than 60 goals in the 2021 year, Lewandowski was forced to settle for the best striker prize and status as the bookies’ favourite to win FIFA’s ‘The Best’ award.

The FC Bayern striker had been the favourite to collect the Ballon d’Or in 2020, but France Football opted against handing out an award last year during the coronavirus pandemic.

Messi asserted that Lewandowski would have been the unanimous Ballon d’Or winner of the previous year, and he insisted that the organisers of the award, France Football, should hand Lewandowski the 2020 award.

“Robert, you deserve your Ballon D’Or. Last year, everyone was in agreement to say that you were the big winner of this award,” Messi said.

“Hopefully France Football will give you the 2020 Ballon d’Or. We all believe you deserved it and I hope you can have it at home,” Messi said, as reported by The Mirror.

Messi has previously won the Ballon d’Or in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015 and 2019. The Argentina superstar has moved two titles clear of his eternal rival Cristiano Ronaldo as the most decorated player in the history.

Jorginho had been fancied by many to challenge for first place, having won the UEFA Champions League with Chelsea and Euro 2020 with Italy, but it was not to be as he only took a bronze medal.

Ballon d’Or 2021 full results

29=. Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea)
29=. Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
26=. Gerard Moreno (Villarreal)
26=. Ruben Dias (Manchester City)
26=. Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan)
25. Phil Foden (Manchester City)
24. Pedri (Barcelona)
23. Harry Kane (Tottenham)
21=. Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan)
21=. Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)
20. Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)
19. Mason Mount (Chelsea)
18. Simon Kjaer (AC Milan)
17. Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid)
16. Neymar (PSG)
15. Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)
14. Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus)
13. Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus)
12. Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea)
11. Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)
10. Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG)
9. Kylian Mbappe (PSG)
8. Kevin De Bruyne
7. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
6. Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)
5. N’golo Kante (Chelsea)
4. Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
3. Jorginho (Chelsea)
2. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
1. Lionel Messi (PSG)

No English player broke in the top 10, with Man City’s Raheem Sterling ranked highest, at 15th. Mason Mount finished 19th, Harry Kane at 23rd and Phil Foden 25th.


Twitter Follow

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.